The Clergy


Previous Rector: Rev Canon Derek Creighton (Retired May 2016)

Frederick (Derek) David Creighton was born and educated at Coleraine. He worked in the insurance industry, in claims investigation, for ten years. In 1979 he went to Lesotho, Southern Africa as a missionary with The United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (USPG). He was accompanied by his wife Margaret, and their young children Andrew and Sara. He was Diocesan Youth Worker until his return home in 1984, and while in Lesotho, he was also secretary to a number of Diocesan Committees.

On return to Ireland he was accepted for ordination training, and was ordained in St. Anne's Cathedral, Belfast in 1988. He served as curate-assistant in Christ Church, Lisburn until his appointment as rector of Drumclamph, Clare and Langfield group of parishes, Co. Tyrone in 1991. During his time there he was responsible for the building of a gallery in Drumclamph Church in 1993, and the building of a new church at Clare in 1997. He also wrote two parish histories, on Drumclamph and Clare parish, and Langfield parish.

He was appointed as rector of Glendermott in August 2000. He is presently secretary to the Diocesan Board of Mission and Unity and Diocesan representative on The Church of Ireland Council for Mission. He is also a Director of The Churches' Trust in Londonderry. He was appointed a Canon of Derry Cathedral in March 2008. Margaret is Parish Office Manager. Andrew lives and works in Malmo, Sweden, where he has his own business providing English training. He married Johanna, who is from Helsingborg, Sweden, in July 2004. Sara married Matthew, from Cornwall, in July 2003, and now has a little boy, Ben, who was born on 10 December 2004 and a daughter Emma, who was born on 30 April 2007. Sara lives in Thatchem, Berkshire.





1860-1889 Rev Canon David Babington
1889-1893 Rev Canon Richard Babington
1893-1914 Ven William Colquhoun
1914-1921 Rev Thomas Alexander Hickson Moriarty
1921-1930 Rev Canon Charles Cullimore
1930-1969 Rev Canon David Kelly
1969-1976 Rev Canon Samuel Wilfred Johnston
1976-2000 Rev Canon Richard Noel Moore
2000-2016 Rev Canon Frederick David Creighton


1960-1963 Rev Walter Patterson Quill
1964-1966 Rev John Alexander Deery
1966-1968 Rev John Bavaria Boden
1968-1970 Rev Cecil McSparron
1972-1975 Rev Donald Stewart McLean
1977-1981 Rev David William Talbot Crooks
1983-1985 Captain Kenneth Higgins
1984-1986 Rev William Barry Paine
1988-1991 Rev David Griscome
1989-1997 Rev Hubert James Kenneth McLaughlin
1996-1999 Rev Geoffrey Samuel Alan Wilson
2001-2004 Rev Ivan Dinsmore
2006-2009 Rev David McBeth